NARA Yearly Reviews

N.A.R.A. Year in Review *10th Anniversary Edition* 1st July 2016 – 1st July 2017

 

***NARA was officially set up 10 years ago today, and during this time we've seen so many positive changes for animals in Ireland, but we still have a long battle ahead of us.

Thanks so much to everyone who has supported us through the years, we really appreciate it and couldn't have done it without you!

Every small success for animals we achieved was because of a team effort, so we hope to see you all at a protest very soon!

Until all are free, we will never stop!***



EVENTS ORGANISED:

  • Over 100 protests, leafleting events and information stalls


LEAFLETS DISTRIBUTED:

  • 10,000


EMAILS RECEIVED THROUGH OUR WEBSITE:

  • We received over 404 emails, through our website, in the past year from members of the public asking questions, seeking advice, requesting information, reporting animal cruelty and wanting to join our campaigns


FUR:

  • Found ‘Forever 21’ to be accidently selling unlabelled items made from real fur. They subsequently launched an internal investigation, and removed the entire range of items from all of their stores worldwide.
  • Got the ‘Kilkenny Shop’ in Dublin to remove all real fur sold on their premises.
  • Through Stephen’s Green Shopping Centre’s ethical policy, we had all fur removed from ‘Fabio Dericci’.
  • Alerted the ‘Shoe Rack’ in Charlestown that they were selling unlabelled items made from real fur, and they discontinued the sale and reinforced their fur-free policy.
  • Had the most focused anti-fur campaign against ‘Costume’, a boutique in Dublin, despite Gardai trying to stop us, as well as the fact that this boutique hired ‘Dublin Town’ to harass and disrupt our protests.
  • Took part in, and helped promote, ‘Ireland’s Fur Trade (2017)’, a documentary produced by filmmaker Dean Mullen.
  • Through the ‘Competition & Consumer Protection Commission’, we were able to get falsely labelled hats made from real fur removed from Arnotts Department Store, and have the company involved – ‘Custom Vintage Dublin’ – investigated.
  • Caught ‘Pamela Scott’ boutique selling real fur again, which they reluctantly removed after several complaints.
  • After an anonymous tip-off, informing us that Brown Thomas were secretly selling real fur, despite their “fur free policy”, we set up a sting operation and exposed them live on Facebook. They have since claimed that their fur-free policy extends to their ‘personal shopper’ service, but we remain doubtful and continue to monitor the situation.


ANIMAL CIRCUSES & ANIMAL SHOWS:

  • NARA protesters were assaulted by customers of ‘Duffy’s Circus’ in Clontarf, who then aided their escape upon the arrival of Gardai.
  • Thanks to a concerned member of the public contacting us about a live reindeer used as a “Christmas attraction” in the Omni Shopping Centre in Dublin, we were able to generate an enormous amount of negative publicity for the shopping centre – including time on radio, newspaper interviews, and our action-alert on Facebook being shared hundreds of times. As a result, a number of other shopping centres and outdoor markets cancelled their plans to have a live reindeer “attraction” during the Christmas period.

 

 

BLOODSPORTS:

  • Gave a talk on bloodsports in Ireland, at Dublin’s Veg Day Fair.
  • Protested the Ward Union Hunt’s ‘Stephen’s Day Parade’ in Ashbourne, and followed them until they packed up and left early.
  • Challenged RTE’s ‘Ear to the Ground’ regarding a pro-bloodsports segment they aired, which they haven’t done again since.

 


VEGANISM:

  • Organised Ireland’s very first ‘March to Close all Slaughterhouses’, which took place in Dublin City Centre, where hundreds of people and a number of animal rights groups joined together to promote veganism in Ireland.
  • Got SuperValu in Blackrock to remove their live lobster tank, thanks to the hundreds of people who took part in our action alert.
  • Created a lot of negative publicity against Colaiste Isoagain in Portarlington, for their barbaric Transition Year project to raise, auction and kill turkeys.
  • Joined ‘Earthlings Experience Dublin’ in many of their events.


VIVISECTION:

  • Sent multiple FOI requests to the HPRA regarding vivisection in Ireland, which were denied – but we at least got to highlight the secrecy and corruption in this industry and their governing bodies.
  • Through FOI requests to Trinity College in Dublin, we were able to reveal that they experimented on 6,971 animals in 2015.
  • Had a protest outside Trinity College for ‘World Week for Animals in Laboratories’.

 
DUBLIN ZOO:

  • Took park in the CAPS (captiveanimals.org) day of action against zoos.
  • Through a sympathetic journalist, we received dozens of pages of documents on Dublin Zoo, which revealed that they still catch animals from the wild, kill healthy animals, profit from selling them, and engage in no wildlife rehabilitation projects.


VIDEOS:

 

OTHER CAMPAIGNING NEWS:

  • Took part in various radio and newspaper interviews, school talks, and debates on animal rights issues throughout the year.
  • Attended the annual ‘International Animal Rights Conference’ in Luxembourg.
  • Had a stall at Animal Aid UK’s ‘Vegan Christmas Fayre’ in London, to highlight the work we do in Ireland.
  • Had a stall at Dublin’s Veg Day Fair.
  • Joined the group ‘Not For Your Entertainment’ in a rally to show solidarity for the #JobstownNotGuilty campaign.
  • Protested Alan Farrell TD’s constituency office and family home, following his approved amendment to Wildlife Protection legislation, which would allow for a cull of seagulls in Balbriggan.
  • Engaged in the open rescue of discarded, dying crabs from fishermen in Howth, and released them back into the sea.
  • Our sub-group, ‘Vegan LGBT Ireland’ (https://www.facebook.com/VeganLgbtIreland/) marched as official participants in Dublin’s Pride Parade.
  • New NARA website launched: https://www.naracampaigns.org/
  • NARA merch store launched: https://www.naracampaigns.org/collections/nara-merch

 

**************************************************************************************************** 

 

N.A.R.A. Year in Review 1st July 2015 – 1st July 2016

EVENTS ORGANISED:
  • Over 100 protests, leafleting events and information stalls

LEAFLETS DISTRIBUTED:
  • 13,000

EMAILS RECEIVED THROUGH OUR WEBSITE:
  • We received over 957 emails, through our website, in the past year from members of the public asking questions, seeking advice, requesting information, reporting animal cruelty and wanting to join our campaigns

FUR:
  • Got ‘Neola Boutique’ to remove real fur from there store
  • Started Ireland’s very first #FurChallenge actions, inspired by a campaign started in the USA (just search #FurChallenge for more information)

ANIMAL CIRCUSES:
  • Along with other local and national groups, we followed Belly Wien/Renz Circus around the country, protesting them until they finally gave up and left Ireland after only being here a few weeks

BLOODSPORTS:
  • We monitored the Ward Union Hunt for illegal hunting throughout the season
  • Joined ICABS to protest the Hare Coursing Finals in Clonmel, Tipperary

GREYHOUND RACING:
  • Did a leaflet drop inside Shelbourne Park Greyhound Racing stadium, before being escorted out by security
  • Participated in a home demo against Lufthansa director, protesting their policy for shipping greyhounds to China

FOIE GRAS:
  • Restarted our foie gras campaign, with our primary target now being ‘La Boulangerie Francaise’ bakery in Swords
 
DUBLIN ZOO & SEALIFE:

EVENTS PARTICIPATED IN:
  • Information stall at Dublin’s Vegetarian Day Fair
  • Information stall and talk given at Ireland’s very first ‘Vegfest’
  • Information stall at the Anarchist Bookfair
  • Joined forces with AFAR, ICABS, DAFA, Freedom for Dolphins Ireland and other local groups for various protests
  • Our sub-group, ‘Vegan LGBT Ireland’ (https://www.facebook.com/VeganLgbtIreland/) marched as official participants in Dublin’s Pride Parade – receiving TV, radio and newspaper coverage.
  • Started a new ‘Vegans of Ireland’ community group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1739752622971763/
 
NARA-COPTER: IRELAND’S FIRST ANIMAL PROTECTION DRONE:
  • We have released some footage taken with our drone, covering a fur farm and animal testing laboratory, with more videos coming soon! You can keep track on our YouTube channel here: https://www.youtube.com/user/naracampaigns

OTHER CAMPAIGNING NEWS:
  • Organised the official premiere screening of ‘Inside Fur’ in Dublin, with the help of Animal Justice Project UK – for more info see: http://www.insidefur.com/
  • Was featured in the 365 Vegan Project - https://www.facebook.com/365vegans/
  • Took part in various radio/tv/newspaper interviews, school talks, and debates on animal rights issues throughout the year


 
 
 
 
N.A.R.A. Year in Review 1st July 2014 – 1st July 2015
 
EVENTS ORGANISED:
• Over 100 protests, leafleting events and information stalls
 
LEAFLETS DISTRTIBUTED:
• 15,000
 
EMAILS RECEIVED THROUGH OUR WEBSITE:
• We received over 300 emails, through our website, in the past year from members of the public asking questions, seeking advice, requesting ‘Go Vegan’ packs, reporting animal cruelty and wanting to join our campaigns
 
 
THE FUR TRADE IN IRELAND:
• Through Dail questions asked by Maureen O’Sullivan and Clare Daly, we can now confirm that there are now only 3 fur farms in Ireland
 
•    Once again we got real fur removed from Stephen’s Green Shopping Centre, within hours, due to our online action-alert

•    We got fur removed from the Stephen’s Green Park Xmas Market within minutes, due to a surprise protest
 

BLOODSPORTS:
• We monitored the Ward Union Hunt for illegal hunting every week throughout the season and as a result, we were able to capture the following footage:   https://youtu.be/zg8LyuQdNkU?list=UUxMmlJfP_upDatTQL57Ae_Q and there is currently a court case pending

• Protested the ‘Ward Union’ annual hunt ball


NEW CAMPAIGN STARTED:
We launched a new campaign against the live boiling of lobsters


OPEN RESCUE:
  • NARA, DAFA and AFAR openly liberated 9 lobsters from a restaurant in Dublin called ‘Ka Shing’: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FnDV7IsRM34 This was the first ever open rescue in Ireland.
 
EVENTS PARTICIPATED IN:
• Information stall at Dublin’s Vegetarian Day Fair
• Information stall at the Anarchist Bookfair
• Joined forces with AFAR, ICABS and Dublin-Meath Hunt Sabs for various protests
• Attended the World Day for Animals in Laboratories rally in Cambridge
• Our sub-group, ‘Vegan LGBT Ireland’ marched as official participants in Dublin’s Pride Parade – receiving TV, radio and newspaper coverage.


IRELAND’S FIRST ANIMAL PROTECTION DRONE:
  • Due to the generosity of our supporters, we were able to raise enough money to purchase a drone, and get official training for it, so now we will be conducting investigations and producing expose videos regularly, as well as filming illegal hunting activity when the season starts
 
 
OTHER CAMPAIGNING NEWS:
  • Took part in various radio/tv/newspaper interviews, school talks, and debates on animal rights issues throughout the year
  • We have started producing campaign/protest videos regularly, which can be viewed here: https://www.youtube.com/naracampaigns
  • We exposed DIT students posing with murdered rats in laboratories

 

 

N.A.R.A. Year in Review 1st July 2013 – 1st July 2014

 

EVENTS ORGANISED:

• Over 100 protests, leafleting events and information stalls

 

LEAFLETS DISTRTIBUTED:

• 27,500

 

EMAILS RECEIVED THROUGH OUR WEBSITE:

• We received a total of 187 emails, through our website, in the past year from members of the public asking questions, seeking advice, requesting ‘Go Vegan’ packs, reporting animal cruelty and wanting to join our campaigns

 

NEW CAMPAIGNS:

Horse Carriages:  We put together a new leaflet and page on this issue our website: http://www.naracampaigns.org/horse-carriages.html 

We also contacted every Dublin City Council member, asking them to put forward a motion for a ban on horse carriages in Dublin. Most did not even respond to us, those who did declined our request. But we will be renewing our appeal on a yearly basis, and in the meantime continue to raise awareness on this important issue.

Sea Life in Bray: As part of the CAPS’ ‘Sea Lies’ campaign http://sea-lies.org.uk/

 

FUR FREE SUCCESSES:

• ‘Ribbon Rouge’ boutique in Navan

• ‘Soho Market’ in Dublin

• ‘Coco Boutique’ in Dublin

 

 

THE FUR TRADE IN IRELAND:

 

•Because of Fine Gael's decision to scrap the Fianna Fail/Green Party plan to ban fur farming in Ireland, we have had to start campaigning to shut these hell holes down all over again.

•Since April, we have organised weekly protests outside Ireland’s biggest fur farm, Vasa Ltd., in Co. Laois. Thousands of leaflets have also been distributed in nearby towns, raising awareness and support from the locals.

•This is the most direct and consistent anti-fur campaign ever organised in Ireland, and it will not end until we achieve a ban. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z8N77XURIVA

 

 

BLOODSPORTS:

• We monitored the Ward Union Hunt for illegal hunting every week throughout the season.

• Protested the hunt balls of the ‘Meath Hounds’, ‘Ward Union’ and ‘Fingal Harriers’

 

 

EVENTS PARTICIPATED IN:

• Information stall at Dublin’s Vegetarian Day Fair

• Information stall at the Anarchist Bookfair

• Joined forces with AFAR, ICABS and Dublin-Meath Hunt Sabs for various protests

• Attended the World Day for Animals in Laboratories rally in Nottingham

• Our sub-group, ‘Vegan LGBT Ireland’ marched as official participants in Dublin’s Pride Parade – receiving TV, radio and newspaper coverage.

 

 

OTHER CAMPAIGNING NEWS:

• Took part in various radio interviews and debates on animal rights issues throughout the year.

•  ‘Fur shop owner told to pay 9,000euro to protester she punched’: http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/shop-owner-told-to-pay-9k-to-protester-she-punched-29794615.html

•The ‘Ruuts and Shuuts Catering Collective’ invited us to give a talk and presentation in The Exchange, Temple Bar, on animal rights and our campaigns

•  Protested the opening day of the ‘Dublin Horse Show’ outside the RDS

• Hosted a talk and open-meeting on ‘Combating Bloodsports in Ireland’

• We attended, and gave the introduction to, a live Prime Time debate on the fur industry

• Supported CAFT UK’s anti-fur campaign against Harvey Nichols by protesting their store in Dundrum Shopping Centre

• Raised funds for, and organised a protest in solidarity with, imprisoned British activist Debbie Vincent

•  Mini-booklet with vegan Christmas recipes produced and distributed all around Dublin City Centre

• ‘Dillon Exports’ coincidently ceased business with the live export trade in Waterford, after weekly home demos

• Publicly refused an invitation to, and subsequently protested, Minsiter Coveney’s sham “Animal Welfare Conference” at Dublin City Castle for 8 hours

• As a result of incredibly generous donations, we have been able to get new campaign materials printed – banners, pop-up banners, posters, business cards, stall displays and an array of NARA merchandise including t-shirts, wristbands, keyrings and badges. 100% of funds raised through the sale of merchandise will go directly into funding our campaigns.

 

 

 

 

1st July 2012 - 1st July 2013

 

N.A.R.A. Year in Review 1st July 2012 – 1st July 2013 

EVENTS ORGANISED: 

• 105 Protests and Leafleting Events
• 16 Information Stalls in Dublin City Centre

LEAFLETS DISTRTIBUTED: 

• 24,000

EMAILS RECEIVED THROUGH OUR WEBSITE: 

• We received a total of 326 emails, through our website, in the past year from members of the public asking questions, seeking advice, requesting ‘Go Vegan’ packs, reporting animal cruelty and wanting to join our campaigns

NEW CAMPAIGNS: 

• New campaign to ban Live Exports launched – targeting the port, export company, and those involved


NEW GROUPS: 

• NARA Sligo formed

• Outreach branch of NARA set up in Finglas


EVENTS PARTICIPATED IN: 

• Took part in every SHAC Global Week of Action

• Information stall at Dublin’s Vegetarian Day Fair

• Information stall at the Anarchist Bookfair

• Joined forces with AFAR and ICABS for various protests

• Protested the hare coursing finals in Clonmel

• Attended the World Day for Animals in Laboratories rally in Oxford

• Our sub-group, ‘Vegan LGBT Ireland’ marched as official participants in Dublin’s Pride Parade


OTHER CAMPAIGNING NEWS: 

• Assisted CAPS (Captive Animals Protection Society) in a meeting with Arts Council Ireland regarding their funding of animal circuses.

• Took part in various radio interviews and debates on animal rights issues throughout the year and were featured on RTE News regarding our live exports campaign.

• Helped re-home a number of kittens, degus and hens.

• Re-started anti-greyhound racing campaign.

• Gave a talk on vivisection for the ‘Pandor’s Box’ meet-up group in Dublin.

• Monitored the Ward Union Hunt for illegal hunting throughout the season.



 

 

1st July 2011 - 1st July 2012

 

N.A.R.A. Year in Review 1st July 2011 – 1st July 2012 

EVENTS ORGANISED: 

• 145 Protests and Leafleting Events
• 6 Information Stalls in Dublin City Centre

LEAFLETS DISTRTIBUTED: 

• 16,000

EMAILS RECEIVED THROUGH OUR WEBSITE: 

• We received a total of 315 emails, through our website, in the past year from members of the public asking questions, seeking advice, reporting animal cruelty and wanting to join our campaigns

GLOBAL EVENTS PARTICIPATED IN: 

• CAPS Zoo Awareness Weekend
• World Day for Animals in Laboratories
• International Anti-Fur Coalition’s Fur Free Friday
• Every SHAC ‘Day/Week of Action’


FUR FARM NEWS: 

• Fur farming in Ireland was supposed to be banned by 2012, but the Green Party's plan for this was scrapped by the new Fine Gael led government, which means that this horrendous cruelty will continue to exist until we can successfully get a full ban introduced into legislation.

• We were invited to a meeting with the Dept. Of Agriculture’s ‘Fur Farm Review Group’, to put our case forward for a complete ban. Despite efforts from groups around the country, and beyond, Minister Coverney has decided to exclude a fur farm ban from the new Animal Health & Welfare Bill.

• Protests at fur farms have started again, as well as outreach events organised in the nearby towns, to create awareness about the issue.


FUR-FREE SUCCESSES: 

• TK Maxx were caught selling real reindeer fur. They claimed it was a by-product of the meat industry, and therefore not in breach of their previous fur-free policy. After weeks of in-store complaints, emails, and phonecalls, they finally removed all remaining fur items – and leather as well!

• ‘Pop Up Christmas Shop’ in Stephen’s Green Shopping Centre forced to stop selling fur by management, within days of campaign being launched.

• ‘Adam’s Auctioneer’s’ decides not to include fur in their auctions again due to the volume of complaints they received from our action-alert.


OTHER CAMPAIGNING NEWS: 

• Took part in dozens of radio interviews and debates on animal rights issues throughout the year.

• Had a stall in Dublin’s Vegetarian Day Fair

• Attended the Barry Horne memorial march and protest at Huntingdon Life Sciences in the U.K.

• Through our mailing list, helped re-home dogs, cats, rats, a rabbit and a hamster

• Successfully pressured the KSPCA to act and take a horse out of an abusive situation in Kerry, within days, even though locals’ pleas for help had been ignored for years. Horse now safe and doing well.

• Joined forces with AFAR, ARAN, ICABS and Feral Cats Ireland for various protests.

• Teamed up with SHAC and successfully pressured Irish company ‘Carl Stuart Ltd.’ into severing their contract with Huntingdon Life Sciences.

• Got the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland to investigate animal cruelty being encouraged on the ‘Colm Hayes Show’.

• Attended International Animal Rights Conference in Luxembourg

• Participated in a UCD debate on animal testing

• Monitored the Ward Union hunt for illegal hunting

• Lots of media attention and support from local councillors received, regarding our efforts to get the Mansion House’s Christmas “Live Crib” banned. As a result, for the first time ever, the DSPCA publically condemned it.

• Got Donegal Donkey Sanctuary to pull planned ‘donkey and cart’ publicity stunt at the Dail

• Took part in the World Day for Animals in Laboratories rally in Birmingham

• Campaign against Charles River and Ovagen grows in support

• Vegan LGBT group formed – vegan outreach events planned for pride parades



 

1st July 2010 - 1st July 2011

 

EVENTS ORGANISED:

  • 156 Protests & Leafleting Events
  • 9 Information Stalls in Dublin City Centre

 

LEAFLETS DISTRIBUTED:

  • 20,000

 

FUR CAMPAIGN NEWS:

  • Dublin County Council, Fingal County Council and South Dublin County Council adopt fur-free policies for their jurisdictions.
  • Due to pressure from a Facebook campaign, vintage store ‘FanciSchmancy’ removes all fur from their shop.
  • Online site ‘Adverts.ie’ adopts fur-free policy and all advertisements for fur are removed.

 

NEW CAMPAIGNS STARTED:

  • Campaign to stop the Reptile Trade - in association with the Animal Protection Agency
  • NAVA Ireland branch launched

 

GLOBAL EVENTS WE PARTICIPATED IN:

  • CAPS’ Zoo Awareness Weekend
  • IDA’s Global Day of Action to Highlight the Cat & Dog Meat Trade in Korea - Dublin’s Korean Embassy was protested
  • For IDA’s “World Vegan Week” we hosted a free vegan cake giveaway stall in Dublin City
  • The Anti-Fur Coalition’s “Fur Free Friday” - Dublin’s fur shops protested
  • Every SHAC ‘Week of Action’

 

OTHER CAMPAIGNING NEWS:

  • Supported the group “Puppy Farm Awareness Campaign Ireland” at their Dail protest
  • Dozens of radio interviews done, covering all issues of animal rights in Ireland
  • Campaign against Charles River persists despite violence and intimidation
  • ‘Le Bon Crubeen’ restaurant stops serving foie gras
  • We received a total of 466 emails in the past year from members of the public asking questions, seeking advice, reporting animal cruelty and wanting to join our campaigns

 

 

 

1st July 2009 - 1st July 2010

 

"N.A.R.A.'s Year in Review from 1st July 2009 - 1st July 2010"


EVENTS ORGANISED:

94 Demonstrations

119 Leafleting Events

14 Information Tables

 

INFORMATION DISTRIBUTED:

21 Information Packs sent out to members of the public

20,500 leaflets distributed

 

FUR NEWS:

‘Swopshop’ boutique contacts us to confirm they have a fur-free policy

Owner of ‘Lara Boutique’ stores (Ireland & U.K.) contacts us to confirm fur-free policy

Irish Government confirms ban on fur farming by 2012

 

LEGISLATIVE SUCCESSES FOR ANIMALS IN IRELAND:

Hare coursing banned in Northern Ireland

Stag hunting banned in the Republic of Ireland

 

NEW CAMPAIGNS STARTED:

Show Jumping - protest outside the annual Dublin Horse Show

Greyhound Racing - first protest organised

Campaign to close the Charles River animal laboratories in Mayo

 

GLOBAL EVENTS WE PARTICIPATED IN:
 
CAPS’ Zoo Awareness Weekend

Global Boycott Procter & Gamble Day

SHAC’s “Operation Liberation” Week of Action - we protested the Charles River Labs in Mayo

IDA’s Global Day of Action to Highlight the Cat & Dog Meat Trade in Korea - Dublin’s Korean Embassy was protested

For IDA’s “World Vegan Week” we hosted a free vegan cake giveaway stall in Dublin City

The Anti-Fur Coalition’s “Fur Free Friday” - Dublin’s fur shops protested

Joined ‘Donegal Veg’ for their vigil as part of the “World Day for the Abolition of Meat”

SAEAB’s “Week of Action Against University Vivisection” - leaflet drop in UCD, protest at Trinity College

World Weekend for the Abolition of Meat - 250 Vegan Recipe Packs handed in to restaurants, cafes and pubs in Dublin

 

OTHER CAMPAIGNING NEWS:

Fur Farm Expose Tour - protests at every fur farm in the country, as well as leafleting events and information tables in the largest cities near the farms

We had an information stall at Dublin’s ‘Independents’ Day Fair’ and hosted a screening of our ‘Fur Farm Expose’ dvd

Organised a foie gras week of action outside the Pearl Brasserie - we protested the restaurant every night for one week

Supported the group “Puppy Farm Awareness Campaign Ireland” in a day of action to highlight the issue, leafleting and collecting petitions

We have done numerous radio interviews - including a debate with pro-hunting group “RISE” press officer, Liam Cahill

Teamed up with the group “Donegal Veg” for various events throughout the year

New group “Students Against Vivisection” started in Trinity College - meetings held with professors

School talk given on veganism and animal rights

Trinity College student gives us report on an Animal Holding Area/Breeding Unit facility there

New group, “NARA-Belfast”, launched

After a leaflet-drop in Ballina, asking for information on the Charles River laboratories, we were given detailed insider info, which we were then able to make public

Teamed up with “NARA-Belfast” for their ongoing ‘Save Lennox’ campaign

We received a total of 384 emails in the past year from members of the public asking questions, seeking advice, reporting animal cruelty and wanting to join our campaigns





 

1st July 2008 - 1st July 2009

 

Hi everyone,
 
It is N.A.R.A.'s 2nd anniversary today, and so I have put together another "Year in Review" to mark the occasion!
 
It's been a great year, and I hope you're all so proud of what we've achieved together. Thank you so much for every letter you've written, petition you've signed, event you've attended, animal you've helped find a home for, donation you've made, and for all the hard work and research so many of you have done for the group - you're all an inspiration to me.
 
We're a great team and I hope we'll have even more successes for the animals next year!
 
 
Enjoy the review,
 
Laura x
 
 
 
"N.A.R.A.'s Year in Review from 1st July 2008 - 1st July 2009"

 

EVENTS ORGANISED:

108 Demonstrations

141 Leafleting Sessions

12 Information Tables

 

INFORMATION DISTRIBUTED:


We have sent out a total of 210 information packs (which includes Fur Farm Expose Packs, Foie Gras Packs, Fur Packs, Vegan Packs, Campaign Starter Packs, Zoo Packs and Thank You Packs)

We have handed out over 34,800 leaflets - not including the thousands of leaflets ordered from groups such as Animal Aid, which we have distributed.

 

FUR FREE SUCCESSES:

Sugar Babe (G.P.O. Arcade, Henry Street, Dublin 1)

We also received a fur free policy confirmation from the company ‘River Island’, and got notice from the ‘Benetton Group’ (which includes the ‘Sisley’ franchise) that they will be fur free by Spring 2010.

 

FOIE GRAS-FREE SUCCESSES:

Gourmet Burger Co. (97 Ranelagh Road, Ranelagh Village, Dublin 6)

La Mere Zou (22 St Stephens Green, Dublin 2)

Ouzos (22 Castle Street, Dalkey, Co. Dublin)

Locks Restaurant (1 Windsor Terrace, Portobello, Dublin 8)

Savoy Restaurant (Limerick Mariott Hotel, City Central, Henry Street, Limerick City)

Exchange Restaurant (The Westin Hotel, College Green, Dublin 2)

Eden Restaurant (this restaurant confirmed their already foie-gras free status) (Meeting House Sq, Temple Bar, Dublin)

The Mill (this restaurant confirmed their already foie-gras free status) (Figart, Dunfanaghy, Co. Donegal)

 

OTHER SUCCESSES:

Drogheda Arts Centre opened an exhibition featuring 2 live dogs, taken from the local pound, to be put on display 7 hours a day for a month (regardless of any adoption offers). After just over a week of pressuring both the artist and the arts centre (including 2 visits to the art centre), the dogs were released, rehomed, and it was confirmed that no dogs would be put in their place.

 

NEW CAMPAIGNS STARTED:

Anti-Zoo Campaign
 

GLOBAL EVENTS WE PARTICIPATED IN:

International Day Against the Chinese Fur Industry

CAPS’ Zoo Awareness Weekend

Global Boycott Procter & Gamble Day


OTHER CAMPAIGNING NEWS:

A expose on Irish fur farms was produced and sent to us, which we released and sent to 113 politicians, radio stations, newspapers and SPCA’s. This resulted in a lot of attention for the issue, and we were fortunate to be able to discuss the expose and campaign on many radio stations around the country, and we even had a live debate with one of Ireland’s fur farmers.

Author, John Banville, publicly got onboard with our campaign to stop animal experiments in Trinity College - which resulted in an enormous amount of media coverage and debates on the vivisection issue - as well as an investigation on animal testing in Ireland.

Countrywide list of restaurants serving foie gras compiled - adding a total of 73 new campaign targets.

In the past year, we have received 237 emails from people through our website - asking questions, looking for advice, requesting information or info packs, asking to join our group or looking for help to set up their own.

We protested against the first “Anti-Animal Rights Seminar” in Ireland, which was hosted in Dublin.

We have found homes for a number of dogs, cats, and even a snake.

Facebook Page created.

Branch of N.A.R.A. set up in Co. Offaly.

We helped supply a student anti-fur group, ‘Fur or Against?’, with campaign materials. They have now made Tralee, in Co. Kerry, Ireland’s first official fur-free town.

 

1st July 2007 - 1st July 2008

 

Hi,

We officially formed the National Animal Rights Association one year ago, on 1st July 2007.

As a look back on all we've done, I've put together a "Year in Review" report below.

Thank you so much to everyone involved. Your continued compassion, determination and dedication to animal rights, is what makes our hopes for equality for non-human animals, turn into reality.

Whether you've sent letters, written emails, attended protests, became a vegetarian/vegan, got petitions signed, given a donation, or even made a friend or family member aware of the injustices animals face, you've made a huge difference for the animals.

It is a personal honour to be fighting for animal rights with you, and although it sometimes seems as though we aren't getting as far as we'd like to - never forget that little by little we are winning. Every day we don't give up is a day nearer to Total Animal Liberation.


Thank you so much again for all your hard work, I hope you'll enjoy reading our "Year in Review".


For the animals,

Laura Broxson


"N.A.R.A.'s Year in Review from 1st July 2007 - 1st July 2008"

EVENTS ORGANISED:

83 Demonstrations

103 Leafleting Sessions

13 Information Tables


INFORMATION DISTRIBUTED:

We have sent out over 60 information packs (e.g. Fur Packs, Circus Packs, Vivisection Packs, Vegan Starter Packs and Campaigner Starter Packs)

And we have distributed a total of over 44,000 leaflets


FUR FREE SUCCESSES: 

Brown Thomas & BT2 stores nationwide

Sharpsville (Temple Bar, Dublin 2)

Flip (Temple Bar, Dublin 2)

HelterSkelter (Temple Bar, Dublin 2)

The Real McCoy (Temple Bar, Dublin 2)

Flairline Fashions (Pamela Scott & Richard Alan stores nationwide) *awaiting confirmation in writing


FOIE GRAS-FREE SUCCESSES:

One Pico Restaurant (5-6 Molesworth Place Schoolhouse Lane, Dublin 2)

Bleu Bistro Restaurant (Joshua House, Dawson Street, Dublin 2)

L'Ecrivain (109a Lower Baggot Street, Dublin 2)

South Bar and Restaurant (Beacon South Quarter, Blackthorn Road, Sandyford, Dublin 18)


OTHER SUCCESSES: 

Citi Bar & Lounge (Dame Street, Dublin 2) have now stopped using snakes as ''student night'' entertainment

Decor (Wexford Street, Dublin 2) have stopped selling horns, animal skulls and fur rugs


NEW CAMPAIGNS STARTED:

Vegan

Foie Gras

Horse Racing


OTHER CAMPAIGNING NEWS: 

Our official website was launched in November, and has already gotten over 3200 hits.

We now have both Myspace and Bebo pages

We're getting regular media and press coverage of our events, and interviews on our campaigns

Almost every day now, we are contacted by new people wanting to join our group

As part of our new Go Vegan! campaign, we are now sending out Vegan Starter Packs on a weekly basis to people who request them

We are now supplying activists all over the country with campaign materials, and helping them to set up groups in their area.

Recently a branch of N.A.R.A. has been set up in Co. Limerick